My Favorite Coffee Cup

Here’s one from the archives that is worthy of a repeat…..

Corey’s Favorite Things

Day 2 – December 23 2014

My Coffee Cup 

 & Organic Papua New Guinea Coffee

     From the Buena Vista Roastery

I love everything about my coffee cup – the clean lines, the way it feels in my hand, the imperfection of the earth tone glazes.  I love the chips and cracks.

To me it is more than a coffee cup – it’s about taking a moment from my day to pause, to slow down.  It’s about ritual.

It holds my morning coffee, but it holds so much more – it holds memories and promise, laughter and tears, perfection & flaws. 

To me, my coffee cup embodies the Japanese philosophy of Wabi Sabi – “the art of finding beauty in imperfection and profundity in nature, of accepting the natural cycle of growth, decay and death.  It’s simple, slow, and uncluttered – and it reveres authenticity above all.”

This time of year especially – with the passing of the winter solstice, the short days and the coming of the new year, I celebrate the cycles of the earth – the quite dark days of winter, the return of the sun.  I remind myself of the importance of celebrating the darkness before welcoming the light.

Leave a Reply

